President & CEO

Julia E. Bradsher, Ph.D., MBA

Dr. Julia Bradsher leads the strategic direction and overall operations of GFPI’s family of global initiatives. GFPI is a non-profit organization with the mission of improving public health around the globe through food safety.  GFPI pursues its mission through training, certification, symposia and thought leadership, and through its technology initiative. 

Prior to The Institute, Dr. Bradsher served as President and CEO of FAAN™ (The Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network), the world’s largest nonprofit organization dedicated to increasing awareness and education of food allergies, informing public policy as it relates to people with food allergies, and advancing research on the cause and potential treatments. Before joining FAAN, she was the Senior Director of Marketing for Dey, L.P., where she was responsible for strategic planning and marketing for Dey Pharmaceutical products. In this role, she worked extensively with all stakeholders of Dey, L.P. products including regulatory affairs, government reimbursement, public and consumer relations, and medical advisory boards.

Dr. Bradsher has held adjunct faculty positions at the University of California, San Francisco; Sonoma State University; and, San Francisco State University, and she was a Research Scientist at the New England Research Institute. While in these positions she conducted research on health and disability policy, women’s health, and preventive health strategies for Medicare beneficiaries, and taught undergraduate and graduate students in research methods and statistics, public policy, and medical sociology. Dr. Bradsher was a post-doctoral fellow in the Pew Health Policy Program at the University of California, San Francisco Institute for Health Policy Studies. She holds a Ph.D. in medical sociology from the University of Miami, and a master’s in business administration from the Sawyer School of Management at Suffolk University in Boston. 

Executive Directors

Gerald Wojtala
Executive Director, International Food Protection Training Institute

Board of Directors

David William Kennedy Acheson
Founder and CEO, The Acheson Group


Jim Aiken
President and Chief Executive Officer, Keystone Symposia on Molecular and Cellular Biology


Robert E. Brackett
Vice President of the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) and Director of the Institute for Food Safety and Health (IFSH)


Joseph Corby
Executive Director, Association of Food and Drug Officials (AFDO)


Karl Dehn
President and Chief Executive Officer, Battle Creek Unlimited

Jorge Hernandez
Senior Vice President Food Safety & Quality Assurance, US Foods

Jim Fernandez

Executive Director, Stephenson National Center for Security Research and Training (SNCSRT) and Co-Chairman, Food & Agriculture Protection Training Consortium (FAPTC)


Rick Foster
Tenured Professor, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources & Endowed Chair in Food, Society and Sustainability at Michigan State University

Walter Hill
Professor and Dean, College of Agriculture, Environment & Nutrition Sciences at Tuskegee University 

Dan S. Smyly

Scientific and Regulatory Affairs Director, The Coca-Cola Company (Retired)